New Concoctions

25 Mar

What a relaxing weekend it has been for me so far.  Any weekend that involves sunshine, friends and great food is always a good one in my book.

After a last minute decision to head to visit my friend Katie, I hopped in the car.  I was excited to try out a new cafe for lunch and stop at some new-to-me health food stores.  We visited The Main Grain Bakery where I picked up a fresh loaf of their seed bread.  It was nutty and delicious.

Seed bread.

We then made our way to a country store with tons of bakery items, nuts and seeds in bulk.

Oat bran, chia seeds, sunflower seeds and coconut.

Katie suggested the oan bran to me since I’d never had it.  I was also fresh out of chia seeds.  Finding sunflower seeds that are both unsalted and not roasted is always a challenge, so I knew I should snatch these while I could.  Also, unsweetened coconut can be hard to come by in our local grocery stores.  Overall, it was a fun trip, and I am so glad I got to meet up with Katie. 🙂

*****

Yesterday my mom had to work, and she ended up getting home super late.  I knew she was going to be starving, so I threw together a flatbread pizza similar to my margerita pizza from several days ago with the one flatbread remaining.

I decided to do something a little different than the other day since we  didn’t have any basil left.

Pesto Chicken Flatbread Pizza.

Pesto Chicken Flatbread Pizza:

Ingredients:

1 flatbread

1/4-1/2 cup tomato sauce

1 Tablespoon of pesto

1 chicken sausage (flavor of your choice)  I used spinach and feta.

Fresh mozzarella

Shredded parmesan cheese (sprinkled)-The pictures don’t show the parmesan, as it was a last minute addition.

1 handful of fresh spinach

Italian seasoning to taste

Directions:

1.) Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2.) Place flatbread on a cookie sheet and spread pesto sauce evenly.  Then top with tomato sauce.

3.) Place a thin layer of spinach across the entire pizza.

4.) Add fresh mozzarella, shredded parmesan and chopped chicken sausage.

5.) Top with italian seasoning.

6.) Bake for 10-12 minutes, and broil on low for the last 3 minutes, or until crispy on the edges.

 

There are so many different pizza combinations, and I can’t wait to keep exploring the possibilities!!

*****

This morning started out with a new concoction that my friend Katie suggested to me she tried out the recipe from the Heather Eats Almond Butter blog.  I made something similar with an added twist.

Chia Oat Bran Breakfast.

Using my new oat bran, I cooked a 1/2 cup of oat bran with 1 cup of water on the stove in a sauce pan.

This took about 3-5 minutes until all of the water was absorbed.  Then I stirred in approximately 1 Tablespoon of chia seeds and poured it into a bowl.

I topped my oats with wheat germ, a scoop of almond butter and 1 Tablespoon of melted coconut butter.  There isn’t a ton of flavor, but the butters help.  I’m not picky with flavors as long as I know things are good for me. 🙂

Now I’m trying to find the motivation for a nice afternoon walk before it’s time to work on dinner.  I’m hoping for another cookout with my mom and grandpa and currently have a pork loin marinating in the fridge.  I’ll be back with an update and pictures of the finished product.  Enjoy the rest of your Sunday!

 

 

Leave me a message!

