Mouth-Watering Meals

21 Mar

Well we’ve made it over the hump… I’m so glad to say that it’s almost Thursday.  Luckily this week has gone pretty fast, and lets hope it keeps up!

After school today, my mom and I headed out for a nice, long 4 mile walk.  We chose to take the same route Korey and I took on Sunday.  It was the perfect walking weather with a nice breeze.  After a frustrating day, the walk was essential in order to get rid of my frustration!

When we arrived home, our legs were feeling tired, but our stomachs were also grumbling!  As badly as we wanted to sit down and rest, we knew we needed to throw together some dinner.  Lucky for me, my mom took more initiative and put together a chicken and veggie salad that definitely hit the spot.

Packed with nutrients 🙂

This salad had grilled lemon pepper chicken, carrots, tomatoes, cucumbers, slivered almonds, and avocado.  I topped mine with a raspberry walnut dressing.

*****

After dinner came the inevitable…taxes.  My mom and I have been procrastinating for the past few months, but we knew tonight was the night.  It’s a long process that involves me sitting in front of the computer for several hours typing while my mom reads me information.  We also help do my brother’s taxes, so 3 sets of taxes=no fun!  Not only that, but half of the time we can’t find the papers we need.  (Note to Korey…..when we get married, we will keep important documents in a folder so nothing gets lost!)  You can thank me later. 🙂

Half way through our taxes we had an unexpected surprise.  My brother’s girlfriend, Mandy, is home for spring break this week, so she stopped over to visit.

Mandy and I.

That is a waaaaay old picture, but a cute one none-the-less.  I’m so glad we got to catch up!

*****

Before I let you go, (and let myself go and get some much needed sleep!), I have one more new recipe for you that I created for last night’s Bunco party.

Flatbread Margerita Pizza:

Ingredients:

1 flatbread

1 roma tomato (thinly sliced)

1/4- 1/2 cup tomato sauce

1/8 cup fresh basil (chopped)

Shredded parmesan cheese (sprinkled)

Fresh mozzarella

Italian seasoning (to taste)

**Ingredient amounts are approximate.  Feel free to add more or less as you wish!

Directions:

1.) Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2.) Lay flatbread on a baking sheet, and spread a thin layer of sauce.

3.) Add tomato slices, shredded basil, cheeses and seasoning evenly to the sauce.

4.) Bake for 10-15 minutes, and broil in order to crisp the edges and the top.

Artisan-Style Flatbread.

I chose to use the One-Republic brand, however any thin flatbread would work.

Thinly sliced tomatoes are key!

The next few pictures describe the way that I chop the basil.  It creates thin ribbons of basil that are great for sprinkling!

Take several basil leaves and fold them in half.

Roll the basil leaves tightly into a tube shape.

With a knife, slice off small pieces of basil.

Fresh basil is one of my favorite fresh herbs, and a necessary ingredient for a margarita pizza.

Flatbread with all of the toppings.

This was a huge hit at the party, and everyone thought it was amazing!  For an improv recipe, I’d say it went well. 🙂

Yumm!

In case you’re not familiar with fresh mozzarella, here are a few images of different varieties below.

Large mozzarella ball.

Small mozzarella pearls.

The fresh mozzarella comes in either a large ball or small pearls.  Either variety works, though.  I used the pearls for my recipe and chopped them in half.  However, it may be easier to use thin slices from the large ball.

Re-living this recipe is making my mouth water!  I better head to bed before I give in to my cravings. 🙂

One Response to “Mouth-Watering Meals”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. New Concoctions « - March 25, 2012

    […] late.  I knew she was going to be starving, so I threw together a flatbread pizza similar to my margerita pizza from several days ago with the one flatbread […]

Leave me a message!

