Two Great Snack Recipes

20 Mar

Today has been yet another beautiful day!!!  I still can’t believe how lucky we are to be enjoying this type of weather in March in Wisconsin.  I don’t know about you, but sunny days just make my day brighter. 🙂  (No pun intended)

Last night my mom and I spent several hours preparing for a get-together she will be having at our house tonight.  There are a group of 12 moms who get together and play the dice game, Bunco, once a month at a different house.  Well tonight it’s my moms turn.  It seems like every time it’s bunco at our house, I just so happen to be home.  It’s a win-win situation because my mom appreciates my help with the food preparation, and I love to cook!  It’s also an added bonus for all of you because you get to enjoy some wonderful new recipes.

We are planning to place small bowls of White Chocolate Popcorn on all of the tables for the women to snack on.

White Chocolate Popcorn:

Ingredients:

1 1/2 bags of plain microwave popcorn

8 oz. of Baker’s white chocolate

1 cup almonds

1 cup craisins

1/2 Tablespoon cinnamon

I also added a bit of food coloring to make it pink. 🙂

Directions:

1.) Pop popcorn in microwave.

2.) Melt white chocolate in a double boiler on the stove top.

3.) Add food coloring if desired.

3.) Stir in cinnamon, almonds and craisins.

4.) Store in a sealer contained, and place in the refrigerator to cool before serving.  I left mine in the fridge until I was ready to eat it.

I think it’s going to be a big hit!!

We also made a Greek Hummus Dip after having something similar several weeks ago.

Greek Hummus Dip:

Ingredients:

1 cup hummus (flavor of your choice)

1/4 cup kalamata olives, chopped

1/2 cup crumbled feta cheese

1 roma tomato, diced,

1/2 cup cucumber, diced

1 Tablespoon of chopped cilantro

Pita Chips

 

Directions:

1.) Spread hummus on the bottom of a round or oval platter.

2.) Layer remaining ingredients on top of hummus.

3.) Chill in fridge until you are ready to serve.

4.) Serve with pita chips or veggies.

*****

That’s all of the recipe previews I have for you tonight.  Tomorrow I will have more for you.  🙂  Enjoy your evenings!

One Response to “Two Great Snack Recipes”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Living with the Unknown « - March 22, 2012

    […] needs to stop!  Ever since my mom’s Bunco party the other night, I have been craving the mediterranean hummus dip that I created.  Since I’ve been obsessed with hummus lately, and after being inspired by […]

Leave me a message!

