Baked Bruschetta

18 Mar

With the nice weather we’ve been having, all I want to do is cook and grill out!  In between cooking and eating, I have managed to find time for some exercise as well.  Korey and I went for a 4 mile walk today, and it felt amazing.  That walk was much needed after all of my indulgences this weekend.

Last night while visiting my future in-laws, I decided it was my turn to cook dinner.  Part of the meal featured a homemade bruschetta that I created.  Based on the reactions I received, my made-up creation turned out well.

Bruschetta

Ingredients:

3 roma tomatoes, diced (or approximately 1 1/2 cups)

1 clove of garlic, minced

1/2 Tablespoon of olive oil

1 Tablespoon of basil (dried or fresh)

Loaf of italian bread

Philadelphia cooking cream (garlic flavor)

Directions:

1.) Dice tomatoes, and add them to a small mixing bowl.

2.) Add minced garlic, basil and olive oil to tomatoes, and mix well.

3.) Allow mixture to sit in fridge until you are ready to use.

4.) Slice loaf of italian bread, and place the slices onto a baking pan.

5.) Spread a thin layer of the cooking cream cheese onto slices.

6.) Spoon the tomato mixture onto the bread slices.

7.) Bake at 350 degrees for 10 minutes or until crispy.  (At this point, you could also just bake the bread with the cream cheese and add the tomato mixture after the bread has been cooked.)

Tomato topping mixture prepared in a bowl.

Bread with cream cheese and tomato mixture ready to go in the oven.

Overall, we enjoyed this recipe.  There are many different ways to recreate it.  I would also suggest adding a small amount of balsamic vinegar to the tomato mixture for some added tang.  Otherwise, you could also sprinkle grated mozzarella cheese on top of the tomato mixture rather than using the cooking cream.  Usually I’m not a huge fan of baking with processed and packaged ingredients, but the cooking cream was quite delicious.  I can’t wait to hear what you think. 🙂

I hope everyone enjoyed their weekend as much as I did.  Of course it was another fast week of Korey being home, but I sure did enjoy every minute of it.  Check back tomorrow for a relationship recap because it’s our 1 year anniversary, and it was quite possibly my best year yet!! ❤

Leave me a message!

