Chicken Kale Soup

12 Mar

Is it really Sunday???  Can the weekend go any faster…probably not.  Usually I would be bummed that the weekend was over, except for the fact that Korey will be coming home tomorrow!!  It’s been another long two weeks of him being gone for work.  Unfortunately for me I will have to go through the entire day of student teaching before I get to see his smiling face. 🙂   I just love this picture!!  What a little model he is.  This was from our trip to Florida last May.  Speaking of Florida, the weather here today in Wisconsin was beautiful!!  I may or may not have been sitting on the front porch in a lawn chair tanning my face…and boy did it feel good.  After catching some rays, I went on the treadmill for a solid 30 minutes.  It just so happened that mom was ready for an outdoor walk before dinner, so we did the “loop” by our house that takes about 20 minutes.

After we got home, we went straight to the kitchen to work on a new soup recipe.  I thought it turned out pretty well for an improvisation recipe…you guys will have to be the judge though.

Chicken Kale Soup:

1 T. olive oil

1 clove garlic

2 stalks celery (diced)

1 1/2 cups carrots (diced)

1/2 cup onion (minced)

1 tsp. chicken bouillon

1 1/2 tsp. parsley

1 bay leaf

1/2 tsp. garlic salt

1 tsp. sea salt

10 cups water

3 chicken sausages (chopped into approximately 20 pieces each)

4 cups chopped kale

1 can white hominy (drained)

1 can cannellini beans (drained)

1/8 tsp. cayenne pepper (optional-this makes it quite spicy!)

Directions:

1.) Combine chopped veggies, garlic and olive oil in a large pot, and cook on medium heat for 8-10 minutes or until veggies start to soften.

Veggies in stock pot.

2.) Add water, both cans of beans and seasonings (chicken bouillon, salt, pepper, parsley, bay leaf, garlic salt) and bring to a boil.

3.) Once mixture begins to boil, reduce heat to low, add the chicken sausages and simmer covered for 20 minutes.

4.) After 20 minutes, add 4 cups of chopped kale, and simmer for 15 more minutes.

5.) Scoop and serve hot.  Top with mozzarella or parmesan cheese.

The final product!

I hope you guys enjoy.  Again, if you like a little spice, add just a touch of cayenne pepper.  Yum yum!!!  While my soup was cooking, I was snacking on this…..

How delicious does that look??  Trust me…it was!

I am working on another batch of homemade pumpkin granola.  Since mom and I liked the batch I made last Sunday and it’s almost gone, I knew I needed to make more.  That recipe will be coming soon.  Enjoy the rest of your night!

One Response to “Chicken Kale Soup”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Monday Fun-day | - March 13, 2012

    […] Post navigation ← Chicken Kale Soup […]

Leave me a message!

