Finally Friday!

10 Mar

TGIF!  I survived my first week of student teaching.  Today at school (and every Friday, for that matter) we have ‘Friday Food Forum.’  What does this entail, you ask?  It entails pounds of chocolaty, sugary desserts prepared at home by the students and shared with their classmates and their teacher…aka me…the one who graciously accepts each and every treat with a smile, takes one bite, and then throws them right into the garbage after the kids walk out the door.  I know, that’s bad.  But seriously… 4 classes times 5 presentations in each class=20 servings of unnecessariness and extra time on the treadmill when I get home!!!  It’s going to be a long 3 months of Fridays like this.  Needless to say, I didn’t end up touching the lunch I brought with me for today.

Salad with cucumbers and sunflower seeds (mango dressing on the side), carrots and hummus, an apple with cinnamon and almond butter and 1 clementine.

If it wasn’t obvious enough already, I’m not too keen on this whole ‘Friday Food Forum’ concept, and I’m going to need some serious willpower to get through it!  Looks like I’ll be saving this lunch for another day.  🙂

When I got home from school, I checked some emails and then immediately hit the treadmill.  My plan is to hop on the treadmill or do some form of a work out every day right when I get home from school for the next 12 weeks.  Today was abs and cardio day.  I did about 25 minutes of cardio and ran sporadically throughout it totaling 5 minutes.  Running is SO hard for me, so I was impressed with myself.  When I’m not running I walk at a fast pace and still manage to get my heart pumping.  I know it’s not much, but doing something is always better than doing nothing at all.  I’ve been pretty consistent with my workouts and healthy eating habits lately, and it’s nice to finally see it starting to pay off.

After my workout, I got a phone call from my grandpa letting me know what the dinner plans were for the night.  On Fridays, I typically go out to eat with my grandpa and mom.  Once in a while my uncle and aunt come along too.  Tonight’s dinner location was just what I was hoping for.  We ended up meeting at the Great Dane, a local restaurant and brewery.  I decided to order the mahi mahi fish with pineapple salsa, green beans and cous cous.  I ordered it a few weeks ago, and it hit the spot.  However, tonight I wasn’t feeling it, and the mahi mahi was a little too fishy for my liking.  You win some, you lose some.

Well it’s probably time for bed.  I am getting up tomorrow and heading to see this lovely lady.

I’ll be meeting up with Korey’s sister to do lunch, shopping and have some long overdue girl talk.  I can’t wait!!!!  I hope everyone had a good Friday.

Leave me a message!

