Lemon Caper Sauce

9 Mar

As I was looking through past recipes I made, I came across a lemon caper sauce that I was obsessed with for a while.  I would drizzle it on top of chicken or pasta dishes.  It’s extremely delicious and fairly healthy too.  What could be better?!

Lemon Caper Sauce:

1 Tbsp water

1 Tbsp cornstarch

1 1/4 cups chicken broth

1/4 cup lemon juice

1 tsp lemon zest

black pepper

1 Tbsp capers

1/2  cup fresh mushrooms (optional)

Chicken or chicken sausage (optional)

Feta cheese for topping

Directions:

1.) Begin by mixing cold water and cornstarch in a small dish until smooth.

2.) In a medium sauce pan, combine remaining ingredients except chicken with cornstarch/water mixture and heat over medium, stirring as sauce starts to thicken.  This should take approximately 10 minutes.

**Can be used over pasta noodles of your choice.  I prefer the flavored al dente noodles similar to the ones below.**

I typically use lemon juice from a bottle just because it’s easier.  Also, here is what capers are packaged in just in case you’re not familiar with them.

Once you have cooked pasta noodles and prepared chicken (or ingredients of your choice), top with sauce as you desire.  I have made this recipe three separate times, and each time I did things a little different as you can see.

Each time though, it turned out perfect, and even tasted great as leftovers the next day!  Don’t wait any longer… you need to make this. :)

One Response to “Lemon Caper Sauce”

  1. accordingtoalew March 9, 2012 at 3:12 am #

    That all looks and sounds super delicious! I will have to try this!

Leave me a message!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

